<<  < Jan. 2020 >   >>

Todays birthdays

Bill Maher (1956)
Henk Poort (1956)
Joey Bada$$ (1995)

Absu tickets


There are currently no upcoming concerts and/or events of Absu, at this moment.

artist information


Absu is an blackened thrash metal band from Plano, Texas, USA. Their early work leaned towards a death metal sound, but more recently they have incorporated a black and thrash metal sound with some celtic and folk music (which they call "Mythological Occult Metal"). Their lyrical themes are esoteric, ranging from Celtic myths and legends, Sumerian myths and legends, magic, weaponry, and sorcery.


Absu was formed in 1991 by Equitant Ifernain (Guitars, Bass, Lyrics) and Shaftiel (Guitars, Vocals). Shortly after that, they were joined by Proscriptor McGovern (Drums, Vocals, Lyrics), David Athron Mystica (Guitars), and Black Massith (Keyboards, Synth, Sequencing). The self-proclaimed "Mythological Occult Metal" has maintained a steady following in the extreme metal underground for a number of years now. After releasing their first album 'Barathrum: V.I.T.R.I.O.L.' in 1993, Absu narrowed their line up to a three piece when David Athron Mystica and Black Massith left. For live performances, they recruited the help of Mezzadurus (from Philadelphia Black Thrashers, Bloodstorm) and recorded as a three piece with Shaftiel and Proscriptor sharing vocal duties and Proscriptor taking over keyboard and synth duties as well. The band stayed with this line up for some time.

In 2001, Absu recruited a new second guitarist, Kashshapxu. This was short lived as soon after that, Equitant left due to musical differences (however, he and Proscriptor still collaborate on other projects to this day). Shortly after that, Proscriptor severely injured his hand in an accident, which required surgery to repair his hand. After almost a year of healing and therapy, he was ready to play again but Shaftiel no longer had any interest in Absu and Kashshapxu had also left the band due to musical differences. Proscriptor then put Absu on hold and decided to work on other projects. During this period he auditioned for Slayer but Slayer eventually went with their original drummer Dave Lombardo. In 2005, Proscriptor and Equitant put together a collection of rare, live and unreleased Absu recordings and released it under the title 'Mythological Occult Metal: 1991-2001'.

With Absu still on hold, Proscriptor continues to work on other projects including Equimanthorn (with Equitant and members of The Soil Bleeds Black, dark ambient music), Proscriptor (his own project of neo-folk/classic rock fused music), and Starchaser Network (with Equitant and Victorious; electronic art/rock band). Additionally, he was the drummer/vocalist for Melechesh for six years (1999-2005; although still contributes lyrics and vocals) and has done session work with Judas Iscariot, Thornspawn, and Magnus Thorsen. Proscriptor also has his own record label, Tarot Productions.

In December 2006, Proscriptor announced that the new line up for Absu would be revealed sometime in 2007 as well as the re-release of Absu's first three albums on picture disc vinyl and a new live EP which were released on January 15th, 2007. In May 2007, Prosciptor finally announced the addition of Vastator Terrarum and Aethyris MacKay to the band as well as a split EP release with Demonical. Absu plan to begin recording in the latter part of 2007 (or early 2008) and plan to release their fifth full length album (simply titled Absu) in June 2008 through Osmose Productions/The End Records.


Studio releases

  • Barathrum: Visita Interiora Terrae Rectificando Invenies Occultul Lapidem (V.I.T.R.I.O.L.) - (1993)
  • The Sun of Tiphareth - (1995)
  • The Third Storm of Cythraul - (1997)
  • In the Eyes of Ioldánach - (1998)
  • Tara - (2001)
  • Mythological Occult Metal: 1991-2001 - (2005)
  • Absu - (2008)

Additional Releases

  • The Temples of Offal (1992)
  • ...And Shineth Unto the Cold Cometh... (1995)
  • In The Visions Of Ioldánach (2000)
  • L'Attaque Du Tyran: Toulouse, Le 28 Avril 1997 (2007)
  • Split with Demonical (2007)


Current Members

  • Sir Proscriptor McGovern - Drums & Percussion, Lead Vocals, Mellotron, Lyrics (1992-)
  • Vastator Terrarum - Guitars, Bass, Synthesizers & Backing Voices (2007-)
  • Aethyris MacKay - Guitars, Bass, Synthesizers & Backing Voices (2007-)

Former Members

  • Shaftiel - Guitars, Vocals - (1991-2003)
  • Equitant Ifernain - Guitars, Bass - (1991-2002)
  • Kashshapxu - Guitars - (2001-2003)
  • David Athron Mystica - Guitars - (1992-1993)
  • Black Massith - Keyboards, Synth, Sequencing - (1992-1993)