<<  < Dec. 2019 >   >>

Todays birthdays

William Orbit (1956)

Akercocke tickets


There are currently no upcoming concerts and/or events of Akercocke, at this moment.

artist information


Akercocke is a British progressive blackened death metal band. They are well known for their Satanic beliefs and for wearing suits while performing live.


The band was formed in 1997 by Jason Mendonca and David Gray. The two had been friends in the past, and played in Salem Orchid until 1992, when that band split up. They soon added second guitarist Paul Scanlan and bassist Peter Theobalds. They self-released their first album, Rape of the Bastard Nazarene, in 1999; after this release met with some success, they were signed to the underground Peaceville Records. Their debut release for the new company was 2001's The Goat of Mendes. 2003 saw the release of Choronzon, on Earache Records.

Guitarist Paul Scanlan then parted company with Akercocke. According to the recently written biography of the band by Gray, Scanlan was officially fired from the band for not being dedicated, and contributing the wrong atmosphere to the band in general. His replacement is Matt Wilcock, formerly of Australian metal band The Berzerker.

Words That Go Unspoken, Deeds That Go Undone was released in Britain and Europe in October 2005, and in the United States in February 2006, on Earache Records to great critical acclaim. To promote the album, Akercocke went on tour with Mortician and Blood Red Throne through Europe. Prior to this, they had played four shows in Britain to promote the new album, supported by fellow British death metallers Ted Maul.

On January 18, 2007, Theobalds left the band, citing personal differences. He was replaced by Peter Benjamin of the band Corpsing.

Akercocke released their fifth album, Antichrist, on May 28, 2007. This will be their last album on the Earache label, as they were only contracted to them for three albums. A video has been released for the song "Axiom".

Current members

  • Jason Mendonca - vocals, guitar
  • David Gray - drums
  • Matt Wilcock - guitar
  • Peter Benjamin - bass guitar

Former members

  • Martin Bonsoir - cello, keyboards (1999 - 2001)
  • Paul Scanlan - guitar (1997 - 2005)
  • "The Ritz" - keyboards (2001 - 2006)
  • Peter Theobalds - bass (1997 - 2007)


  • Rape of the Bastard Nazarene CD (1999)
  • The Goat of Mendes CD (2001)
  • Choronzon CD (2003)
  • Words That Go Unspoken, Deeds That Go Undone CD (2005)
  • Antichrist CD (2007)


  • "The Goat"
  • "Horns of Baphomet"
  • "Infernal Rites"
  • "Leviathan"
  • "Axiom"

A video for "Intractable" was filmed but later abandoned during post-production.