<<  < Dec. 2019 >   >>

Todays birthdays

William Orbit (1956)

Anneke van Giersbergen tickets


There are currently no upcoming concerts and/or events of Anneke van Giersbergen, at this moment.

View the complete Anneke van Giersbergen history.

artist information

Anneke van Giersbergen

Anneke van Giersbergen (born March 8, 1973) is the singer of the Dutch band The Gathering. She has also worked with Lawn, Farmer Boys, Ayreon and Napalm Death.


Anneke van Giersbergen was born in Sint Michielsgestel, Netherlands. At the age of 8, she participated in soundmix contests. When she was 12, she was in her school choir. Later on, she started taking singing lessons and joined her first band. She joined a few more bands before becoming part of the duo Bad Breath who played a mix of blues, jazz, folk and funk.

She finally joined The Gathering in 1994.

On February 20, 2005, she gave birth to Finn, Rob Snijders' son.

She appears on the album Rubicon from John Wetton and Geoffrey Downes on the tracks "To Catch a Thief" and "Tears of Joy".

She also appears on the 2006 album Smear Campaign (album) by the grindcore/death metal band Napalm Death, on the tracks "Weltschmerz" and "In Deference" "... for good effect and relevance to the track."

On June 5, 2007 it was announced that Anneke is going to leave The Gathering in August 2007 to focus on a new project, Agua de Annique, and spend more time with her family.

Musical roots and influences

Anneke's musical roots are in the classical and jazz music, but she enjoys rock and pop the most. Her main influences are Prince, Ella Fitzgerald and Thom Yorke (Radiohead).


  • Mandylion (1995)
  • Adrenaline / Leaves - EP (1996)
  • Nighttime Birds (1997)
  • How to Measure a Planet? (1998)
  • if then else (2000)
  • Superheat - Live (2000)
  • Amity - EP (2001)
  • Black Light District - EP (2002)
  • In Motion - DVD (2002)
  • Souvenirs (2003)
  • Sleepy Buildings - A Semi Acoustic Evening - Live (2004)
  • Accessories - Rarities and B-Sides - Compilation (2005)
  • A Sound Relief - DVD (2005)
  • Home (2006)
  • A Noise Severe - DVD (2007)

Guest Vocalist Wetton/Downes: ICON II - Rubicon tracks #4 and #5 (2006)