<<  < Dec. 2019 >   >>

Todays birthdays

William Orbit (1956)

Apocalyptica tickets


There are currently no upcoming concerts and/or events of Apocalyptica, at this moment.

View the complete Apocalyptica history.

artist information


Apocalyptica is a Finnish musical group consisting of three, formerly four, classically trained cellists and, since 2005, a drummer. All three cellists are graduates of the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki, Finland.


Apocalyptica was formed in 1996 when four cellists, Eicca Toppinen, Paavo Lötjönen, Max Lilja, and Antero Manninen gathered to play Metallica covers at the Teatro Heavy Metal Club. Among the audience was Kari Hynninen, who worked for the independent label Zen Garden Records. After listening to Apocalyptica's set, Kari Hynninen signed them on the spot to Zen Garden Records.

In 1996, Apocalyptica released their debut studio album, Plays Metallica by Four Cellos, which consisted solely of Metallica covers played on cellos. In 1998, Apocalyptica released their second studio album, Inquisition Symphony, which was produced by Hiili Hiilesma. Inquisition Symphony once again contained covers of Metallica, but also contained covers of Faith No More, Sepultura, and Pantera. For this album the band also decided to include three original songs written by Eicca Toppinen.

In 1999, Antero Manninen left the group, and was replaced by Perttu Kivilaakso. In 2000, Apocalyptica released their third studio album, Cult, which now featured 10 original songs, and only 3 covers. In 2002, Max Lilja left the group and joined Hevein, leaving Apocalyptica with only three members.

In 2003, Apocalyptica released their fourth studio album, Reflections, which consisted for the first time of all original songs. Reflections featured a more experimental sound, instead of the previous acoustic style arrangements found on Inquisition Symphony and Cult. Dave Lombardo from Slayer played drums on five songs from Reflections.

In 2005, Apocalyptica released their fifth studio album, Apocalyptica, which featured Mikko Sirén on drums, who would be, as of December that year, introduced as an official bandmember. This album featured a number of guest musicians including Ville Valo of HIM, Lauri Ylönen, and once again Dave Lombardo.

Apocalyptica are currently working on their sixth studio album which is due for release in 2007.


Current members

  • Eicca Toppinen – cello (1996–present)
  • Paavo Lötjönen – cello (1996–present)
  • Perttu Kivilaakso – cello (1999–present)
  • Mikko Sirén – drums (2005–present)

Former members

  • Antero Manninen – cello (1996–1999, occasionally plays live)
  • Max Lilja – cello (1996–2002)

Guest musicians

  • Corey Taylor of Stone Sour/Slipknot ("I'm not Jesus")
  • Cristina Scabbia of Lacuna Coil
  • Dave Lombardo of Slayer (multiple songs on Reflections, "Betrayal")
  • Emmanuelle Monet of Dolly ("En Vie")
  • Joseph Duplantier of Gojira
  • Lauri Ylönen of The Rasmus ("Life Burns!", "Bittersweet")
  • Linda Sundblad of Lambretta ("Faraway Vol.2")
  • Marta Jandová of Die Happy ("Wie Weit/How Far")
  • Matt Tuck of Bullet for My Valentine ("Repressed")
  • Matthias Sayer of Farmer Boys ("Hope Vol.2")
  • Max Cavalera of Soulfly, ex-Sepultura ("Repressed")
  • Nina Hagen ("Seemann")
  • Sandra Nasic of Guano Apes ("Path Vol.2")
  • Tomoyasu Hotei
  • Ville Valo of HIM ("Bittersweet")


Further information in the main article: Apocalyptica discography

Apocalyptica audio samples

  • "Misconstruction" (info)
  • "Farewell" (info)
  • Plays Metallica by Four Cellos (1996)
  • Inquisition Symphony (1998)
  • Cult (2000)
  • Best of Apocalyptica (2002) (Japan only)
  • Reflections (2003)
  • Apocalyptica (2005)
  • Amplified - A Decade of Reinventing the Cello (2006)