<<  < Sep. 2019 >   >>

Todays birthdays

Bobby Byrd (1934)
Jessye Norman (1945)
Jimmy Carr (1972)

Unearth tickets


There are currently no upcoming concerts and/or events of Unearth, at this moment.

artist information


Unearth (formed 1998) is a metalcore band with melodic death, groove, and thrash metal influences from Winthrop, Massachusetts. Their debut album, The Stings of Conscience, was a popular offering in the underground metalcore scene. Their music is a mixture of metal and hardcore, categorised by complex, sweep arpeggios, melodic guitar and bass riffs, rapid kicks, non-throaty screaming vocals, highly melodic breakdowns, and politically based lyrics. In their most recent album III: In the Eyes of Fire they have developed a more thrash metal sound. They are also well known for playing seven-stringed guitars, while the bass player plays a five-stringed bass. They have contributed a new song, titled "The Chosen", for Aqua Teen Hunger Force Colon Movie Film for Theaters. The song can be heard at the movie's official websiteand is available in the Aqua Teen Hunger Force Colon Movie Film for Theaters Colon the Soundtrack.


The Old Unearth

Originally, Unearth was the name of a Seattle, Washington Grunge band. They released one album in 1993, and broke up shortly thereafter. Drummer Mike Rudberg then moved to Massachusettes.

Early Career: 1998-2002

Unearth was formed by Trevor Phipps, Buz McGrath, Ken Susi, Mike Rudberg, and Chris Rybicki in Lynn, Massachusetts in 1998. The name "Unearth" was reused from Drummer Mike Rudberg's old band. On the small independent label, Endless Fight Records, they released their first EP called Above the Fall of Man in May, 1999. Years after the release, Unearth signed to Eulogy Recordings to release The Stings of Conscience in 2001 and Endless in 2002. During the process of Endless, Chris Rybicki left the group and was replaced by John Maggard.

The New Beginning: 2003-2005

After playing in venues like the New England Metal and Hardcore Festival and Ozzfest with Unearth, Mike Rudberg left the group a day after their performance at The SXSW in 2003 for the reason of playing naked during that night. Also Buz McGrath left for personal problems but came back shortly after. The rest of Unearth would then use Paulie Antignai of Sworn Enemy as temporary replacement drummer and Kia Eshghi of A Static Lullaby as temporary replacement guitarist (before Buz returned).

With the return of Buz McGrath and new permanent replacement drummer, Mike Justian of The Red Chord, Unearth released the The Oncoming Storm under Metal Blade Records on June 29, 2004. Shortly after, they would begin touring with Killswitch Engage, Shadows Fall, and Lamb of God for MTV's Headbangers Ball US tour. They would also tour with Slipknot the next year. In 2005, Unearth performed in the first ever Sounds Of The Underground tour with numerous bands like Norma Jean, GWAR, and All That Remains.

In the Eyes of Fire: 2006-Present

In early 2006, they began writing their next album. After the writing process, they recorded III: In the Eyes of Fire with legendary heavy metal producer Terry Date at Seattle. This latest coup was yet another landmark in their blossoming career, a fact the band were quick to acknowledge: "Working with Terry Date is another amazing feat for us on a growing list of accomplishments". As they finished their latest album, they performed at Ozzfest for the second time, including songs from the album even though it was not destined for release until August 8, 2006. During the release, they began their headlined Sanctity of Brothers tour with Bleeding Through, Animosity, Through the Eyes of the Dead and Terror. After participating in Japan's Loud Park festival, Unearth and Slayer toured together all around the U.S. in early 2007 on the Christ Illusion tour. They headlined a tour in the beginning of 2007 with Job for a Cowboy, Despised Icon, and DÅÅTH. They then headlined a European tour which was followed by a U.S. & Canadian tour with Dimmu Borgir, Devildriver and Kataklysm that began in the middle of April. It was during this tour that drummer Mike Justian decided to leave the band. His departure was amicable, according to other members of the band. To fill in for the rest of the tour, Gene Hoglan of Strapping Young Lad was recruited. The band has not yet begun the search for a permanent new drummer. They played in the 2007 Download Festival along with Within Temptation and Napalm Death.

As of June 7th, III: In the Eyes of Fire has sold 85,000 copies in the US.

Band members

Current members

  • Trevor Phipps - vocals
  • Buz McGrath - guitar
  • Ken Susi - guitar
  • John Maggard - bass guitar
  • Gene Hoglan - drums (touring drummer only)
  • Derek Kerswell - drums (touring drummer only)

Former members

  • Mike Justian - drums (Left during the band's 2007 US & Canadian tour)
  • Chris "Rover" Rybicki - bass guitar (Left during the production of Endless)
  • Mike Rudberg - drums (Left after the release of Endless)
  • Kia Eshghi - guitar (Filled in for Buz during Fall 2004 headlining tour, was once part of A Static Lullaby)
  • Peter Layman - guitar (Filled in for Buz during 2005 Japan/Australia tour, also a founding member of the band Apiary)
  • Paulie Antignai - drums (Filled in for Mike Rudberg. Part of the band Sworn Enemy)


  • 2001 - The Stings of Conscience (Eulogy Recordings)
  • 2004 - The Oncoming Storm (Metal Blade Records)
  • 2005 - Our Days of Eulogy (Eulogy Recordings)
  • 2006 - III: In the Eyes of Fire (Metal Blade Records)